At one point, Split Rock Lighthouse was the most visited lighthouse in the United States. Split Rock Lighthouse was put into service by the federal government in 1910 after a 1905 storm that sank or damages 29 ships on western Lake Superior. The lighthouse was decommissioned in 1969 and since 1970 has been part of the Minnesota Historical Society. For $9 each, we went to visit Split Rock Lighthouse and had a great time. As soon as we arrived, we joined a 20 minute tour where our tour guide gave us a narrative history of the lighthouse and the lives of its keepers. Not only a lighthouse, but also a fog horn had to be maintained when the fog and mist were too heavy for the light to be seen.
Along with the lighthouse and fog signal building, there are three identical houses built for the three lighthouse keepers. Currently one is kept in the era of the times with people in costume cooking on the early 1900’s stove and furniture throughout the home reminiscent of the times. (The other two are the managers residence and storage.)